AGORA “In The Name Of Destruction”

Written by on June 3, 2020

AGORA a progressive metal band originally from Mexico City, MX. returns after nine years in the middle of a world Pandemic. Ready to rock the Lockdown with a new album entitled, IMPERIO. The band was formed in 1996 in CDMX and since 2001 it has the most stable lineup in terms of Mexican metal bands.

The band has five record releases

  • – Segundo Pasado. (2001)
  • – Zona de Silencio. (2005)
  • – Silencio Acústico. (2008),
  • – Regresa Al Vértigo. “Best Metal Album” by IMAS in 2012
  • – Imperio. 2020

This new production has 11 tracks loaded with original textures, harmonies and instruments such as eight and seven stringed guitars; fretless basses; drums with different timbres and tunings; and the voice of Eduardo Contreras as catalyst and central axis; in addition to the special collaboration on two tracks by the award-winning and renowned American keyboardist Derek Sherinian (Sons of Apollo, Dream Theater, Billy Idol and Alice Cooper).


Q: What are the challenges you face releasing a full production record during a Pandemic?

A: Not being able to promote correctly the album and not touring is certainly a major problem but we are getting through.

Q: After all these years of not releasing any material, what has been your artistic evolution?

A: We’ve been listening to a lot of artists and our music taste has been changing a bit but we’ve always tried to evolve as a band and as musicians as well as trying new things and we’ve become a better band just playing all those shows in between albums. So the end result is a combination of all of these things.

Q: Tell me what this new material has to offer?

A: A new approach to our music also a heavier version of the band without losing any essence.

Q: The fans miss your live shows?

A:Absolutely, we miss them too.

Q:Have you considered doing a live streaming on FaceBook/ Instagram?

A: We’re trying to figure it out, we’ll do something for sure.

Q: What advise would you give band that just released their record?

A: I think that’s the way to go because as artists we have a huge responsibility to entertain in these extreme dark times that we’re living in.

Agora is:

  • Eduardo Contreras – Vocals
  • Manuel Vasquez – Guitar
  • Sergio Aguilar – Guitar
  • Daniel Villareal – Bass
  • Eduardo Carrillo – Drums

We want to thank to Sergio Aguilar & Berinstain Entertainment for their time and facilitating us with this interview.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track