• Home
  • News
  • Progressive Metal Group ETHERIUS Reveals Third “The Making of Thread of Life” Behind The Scenes Video

Progressive Metal Group ETHERIUS Reveals Third “The Making of Thread of Life” Behind The Scenes Video

30 August 2018 News

New Jersey-based progressive metal quartet ETHERIUS recently released their new instrumental progressive metal EP, entitled Thread of Life. The impressive new five track offering is available to order via Amazon, iTunes, and Google Play. You can also stream the EP via Spotify.
ETHERIUS have revealed part three of their behind the scenes video series detailing the making of Thread of Life. Exclusively hosted by Gear Gods, each part highlights drums, bass and guitars individually. In this final installment, the band showcases recording guitars with Jay Tarantino, with a cameo from co-producer Angel Vivaldi. Watch part three here: http://geargods.net/in-studio/etherius-guitar-tracking-thread-of-life/
Jay Tarantino says, “The recording process was a great experience. We did so much of the work during pre-production that it made things much easier when we recorded the master tracks. Since we knew all of our parts worked well together, we didn’t have to stress over arrangements or whether someone’s note choices would work well within the song. It was just all about getting the absolute best takes we could. The only things that changed from pre-production were 75-80 percent of my leads. It was a great learning experience re-writing most of them as we were tracking. It allowed me the chance to work on my improvisational skills. And if something didn’t work, I’d try something else until I was happy.
The only guitar I used was my white Kiesel Aries 7 string that has been my main touring guitar for the last couple of years. I used a Martin acoustic for “Lament” and a Kiesel thinline for the intro acoustic lead in “Thread of Life.” All solos were recorded direct with the Axe Fx and all rhythm guitars were recorded direct and re-amped with a Mesa Dual Recitifier and a 5150.”
Catch parts one and two here, detailing drums and bass respectively:
Check out more ETHERIUS videos here:
– Music video for “The Inevitable End”: https://youtu.be/qr0N4sD3eyU
– Music video for “March and Defy”: https://youtu.be/0w2oiyKL8rQ
– Drum playthrough for “The Inevitable End”: https://youtu.be/4D0OJQRnbX4
– Guitar playthrough for “Soothsayer”: https://youtu.be/7vy8J3VgK2M
– Guitar playthrough for “Thread of Life”: https://youtu.be/innHmhia5Yo
ETHERIUS was formed by guitarist Jay Tarantino in 2017. After gaining experience as a touring rhythm guitarist for guitar virtuoso Angel Vivaldi, Tarantino decided to branch out on his own with the goal of making music unlike the djent/electronic stylings of the current instrumental guitar scene. The result is ETHERIUS – a fresh new take on progressive metal/neoclassical shred incorporating classic thrash elements. ETHERIUS features lead guitarist Jay Tarantino, drummer Zaki Ali, bassist Chris Targia and second guitarist Jon Perkins.
The concept of Thread of Life and the album’s artwork were inspired by ancient Greek mythology, specifically TheMoirai (moy-ray), or “three fates”. Thread of Life was produced and engineered by Jay Tarantino and Zaki Ali with Angel Vivaldi acting as co-producer, was recorded at Backroom Studios in Rockaway, New Jersey (owned by Dillinger Escape Plan guitarist Kevin Antreassin), and was mixed/mastered by Mutiny Within vocalist Chris Clancy at Audioworks Productions. Additional tracking was completed with Angel Vivaldi at his home studio.
With one listen to Thread of Life it’s clear that combined, the four extremely talented musicians of ETHERIUS produce a clean, awe-inspiring sound merging powerful progressive elements that will appeal to not only the most discerning and critical metal fans, but to the heavy music-loving masses as well.
Members of ETHERIUS are currently endorsed by Kiesel Guitars.
Thread of Life track listing:
1. Thread of Life
2. The Soothsayer
3. March and Defy
4. The Inevitable End
5. Lament
ETHERIUS live dates:
9/2 – New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge w/ The Astra Cadence, Book of Harmony – 6:00 PM, $12 – TICKETS
ETHERIUS online:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *