• Home
  • News
  • ‘The Rise of L.A. Thrash Metal’ Documentary Features: Metallica, Megadeth, Dark Angel, Testament, Suicidal Tendencies

‘The Rise of L.A. Thrash Metal’ Documentary Features: Metallica, Megadeth, Dark Angel, Testament, Suicidal Tendencies

10 January 2018 News

Thrash metal evolved in the 1980’s with an explosion. The music sub-genre of rock typically encompassed sounds of double bass, speed guitars and speed drums with often time lead singers belting out falsetto high notes that could break glass. Rather, all vocalists of thrash metal didn’t typically follow suit, such as with James Hetfield of Metallica, with his lower vocal range. However, some artists pushed the limits and belted out their vocal ranges high and low, like Dave Mustaine of Megadeath. To celebrate these bands and the sub-genre of thrash metal,  MetalRock Films will release part one of a new two part Inside Metal documentary DVD series entitled ‘The Rise of L.A. Thrash Metal’. The documentary features narration by David Ellefson, Megadeth.  The documentary focuses on the Los Angeles thrash metal uprising of the early/mid ’80s and acts as a follow-up to the first two Inside Metal titles, ‘The Pioneers of LA Hard Rock & Metal’ and ‘LA Metal Scene Explodes’.

The DVD features many bands and special guest interviews. Each special guest on the DVD provides unique, first-hand insight into the birth and rise of one of heavy metal’s originating genres. The documentary will contain interviews with heavy metal, pillars of the rock industry who helped create the scene. Those featured on the DVD include (alphabetically): Ann Boleyn (Hellion/New Renaissance Records), Bill Metoyer (Producer), Brian O’Brian (A La Carte), Brian Slagel (Metal Blade Records), Brian Tatler (Diamond Head), Chris Poland (Megadeth/OHM), Craig Locicero (Forbidden), Dave Lombardo (Slayer/Suicidal Tendencies), David Ellefson (Megadeth), Diego Negrete (MX Machine), Eric Peterson (Testament), Ernie C (Body Count), Felice Lococo & Kurt Markham (Overkill LA), Frank Bello (Anthrax), Gene Hoglan (Dark Angel/Testament), Greg Durschlag (The Weasels), Jay Reynolds (Malice), Joey Vera (Armored Saint), John Bush (Armored Saint/Anthrax), John Gallagher (Raven), Juan Garcia (Agent Steel/Abattoir/Body Count), Katon DePena (Hirax), Kevin Estrada (Photographer), Lloyd Grant (Defcon), Lars Ulrich (Metallica), Malcolm Dome (Journalist), Marty Friedman (Hawaii/Cacophony/Megadeth), Mike Inez (Alice In Chains), Monte Pittman (Prong/Madonna), Peter Baltes & Wolf Hoffmann (Accept), Phil Sandoval (Armored Saint), Phyllis Pollack (Journalist), Rocky George (Suicidal Tendencies), Scott Peterson (Cryptic Slaughter), Steven Craig (former manager of Slayer & Dark Angel), Stryper (Robert Sweet, Michael Sweet, Oz Fox, Tim Gaines), Tracey “Spacey T” Singleton (Sound Barrier/Gangland), Tracy Barnes (Radio PD), Vincent Price (Steel Prophet/Body Count), and William Howell (KNAC Radio Host a.k.a. DJ Will, former A&R Capitol Records and Metal Blade Records).


The DVD will be released on On January 19, 2018. However, pre-orders are available now via Amazon. Learn more about MetalRock Films and Inside Metal’s ‘The Rise of LA Thrash Metal’ online via www.metalrockfilms.com.



, , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *